Not so dazzled anymore.

Change is good; it’s necessary for growth. But, if you’re going to change than make it a positive one that will keep your loyal members happy.

I joined Shoedazzle.com back in August of 2010. Each month, I would anxiously await their new selections, which ranged from shoes to accessories. I paid my $39.99 a month membership, and rushed to my showroom to find my personalized picks.

My closet was overflowing with cute finds wrapped in bright pink boxes that my friends adored. It was an amazing relationship. I had a personal stylist that would fill my showroom based on my profile, which I took time to fill out. Each month they would also showcase a celebrity shoe and the money you spent on it would go to a charitable cause.

I would spend money, and earn rewards fair and square. It was exhilarating to get enough points to earn a free pair of shoes.  I felt like I was getting such a great exclusive bargain.

What would I spend the points on? Heels, boots, sandals or jewelry? They even offered special daily promotions where you could get a cute umbrella set or a closet organizer. Amazing! The shopping possibilities were endless, and I was faithfully on their site everyday to see what was new.

Then, they changed its business model. No longer were you a member like everyone else earning points and enjoying the thrill of buying moderately priced shoes. No more celebrity picks, or personalized recommendations.

Now, you paid like everyone else. Or, you had the option to be a VIP member and get 15% off.

However, the prices of the shoes changed. Not every shoe was $39.99; some were as high as $79.99. The selections were narrowing down, and earning points felt like an ETERNITY based on their new model.

So, what went wrong? The business model changed in a way that it stripped away the feeling of a sense of belonging. I no longer felt like a valued member, I was like everyone else shopping for shoes. Except now, I would pay only $9.99 a month to get 15% off a pair of shoes.

Don’t get me wrong, they still offer cute shoes and accessories. And there are some perks to being a member. You still earn points, although the structure is different and I’m still trying to figure it out. You don’t have to spend the $9.99 a month, you can “bank it” for when your ready to do a shopping spree or you can use it toward a pair of shoes every month.

But for me, the thrill is gone. I’m waiting to rack up my last amount of points and than I’m canceling my VIP membership. I’m not going to say I will never shop on their site again; I do like their selections. However, to me they are now a shoe website I will shop and compare against for the best deal available.

Let me know your thoughts? Are you still a member? Have you tried them? What do you think went wrong?

Leave a Reply

