My sun kissed glow with St. Tropez Dark Bronzing Mousse

st-tropez-self-tan-dark-bronzing-mousseglove2

Okay, so I finally made a decision this summer to play it safe and start self tanning. Anyone who knows me, understands that I am a beach goddess. But, as I’m getting older and seeing the damage become more prominent on my skin I realized it’s time to give it a rest. Don’t get me wrong, I will still go to the beach. However, this summer I will be showing up with a healthy glow wearing SPF 40!

I also steered clear of self tanners because I felt it took a lot of time and patience to make sure you got even coverage. Anytime I needed a quick glow, off I would go to a tanning salon to spend at least $30 – $60 for an airbrushed or spray tan experience. So, with my decision to be healthy this year I decided to give self tanning a try.

I’ve tried other products before, like Jergens gradual tan mousse or Loreal’s Sublime Bronze self tanning spray. But, they always left me disappointed and had that nasty self tanner smell as well. Over the years, I have heard mixed reviews about St. Tropez. Some people swear by it, some think it’s okay. however, being a firm believer in reputation I needed to decide for myself. I purchased the regular self tan mousse first off of Sephora’s website. I used it once, eh it was okay. I felt like I was in the sun for an hour. I used it a second time, same experience.

However, it was easy to put on and it gradually faded nicely and the smell was refreshingly nice. Not like others, where you get those weird dark spots in between your toes that stay for weeks. I think the regular version would work well with a pale skin tone. However, I do have an olive skin tone so it just didn’t work for me. Upset that my experience was not up to par with what I hoped. I decided to stick with the brand, and visited their website to see if there were other options. I had to do my research.

And there it was, the self tan mousse DARK version. My eye’s widened and I had to have it! This was it, if I could get the same experience of the easy application I did with the regular version I was sold.

I picked it up at Sephora, for some reason I couldn’t find it on their website. I tried it last night, and I was thrilled with the results. This morning, I had a beautiful healthy glow that matched my skin tone perfectly and didn’t spend a minute in the sun this weekend.

So here’s the scoop:

  • Price $44 – It’s expensive but you do get what you pay for.
  • Make sure you shower and exfoliate first. The directions on the body say to use their own products, but I stuck with my own exfoliate and Khiel’s moisturizer and still got amazing results.
  • Put the moisturizer in the spots that tend to get dry, like your feet (make sure you get in between your toes). Your knees, hands and elbows.
  • Make sure you use their mitt. It’s $6, but worth the investment. I didn’t end up with self tanner on my the palms of my hands and helps blend it well.
  • Start from the top to bottom in one sweep. It does dry quickly, so make sure you really work it in with the mitt.
  • The bottle says wait at least 4 hours before you shower. However, for best results I waited all night, and showered the next morning. You will see the tanner come off, but don’t worry you’re left with a beautiful even glow.
  • After you rinse, pat yourself dry and use your favorite moisturizer.

I’m told this will last me about a week, I plan on using it at least every 4-5 days to make sure I don’t over do it. I will probably switch back to the regular mousse in the winter to avoid looking pale. Yes, I love that much!

Some tips about self tanners in general:

  • Before you start using a self tanner, always do a spot test and check the ingredients to make sure you’re not allergic. St. Tropaz is Paraben free. Contains no sulfates,  synthetic dyes or triclosan.
  • Make sure you exfoliate before you use it. There are amazing soaps out there that have natural exfoliate’s in them. Or, you can buy a really good brown sugar scrub. This process will make sure you get the best results because you’re removing all the excess dirt and dead skin.
  • After you have applied your tan, make sure you use a soap that is free of alcohol in it. This will strip the tan right off your body. I just switched over to Organix Hydrating Moroccan Argan Oil body wash. It’s also sulfate free.

All and all, it was easy to apply. Didn’t smell and gave me the perfect deep bronze tan I was hoping for. I hope you all will give a try. If you have used some others, I would love to hear your opinion as well. Happy summer!

3 thoughts on “My sun kissed glow with St. Tropez Dark Bronzing Mousse

Leave a Reply

