4th of July nails to get you in the spirit…And some nail tips.

photo-15fireworks_dollopbluemymind

I’m not usually the girl who is planning her manicure around the holidays. I often just go with the flow, and choose what ever I feel suits me best. However, ever since I joined the Julep Maven subscription (review coming soon!) I’ve been inspired to try new looks. And now that nail art is all the rage, I’m slowing easing myself into this new trend. So, in honor of our nation’s birthday this week I decided to get a little fancy.

After receiving my new box, I was excited to see “Fireworks” in all her glory. The picture above doesn’t do her as much justice as it would in person. This was a quick shot after my fresh manicure. I decided to mix her up with Sally Hanson’s Complete Salon Manicure color in “Blue My Mind”. Together they make a great match for the 4th of July holiday.

I really do love the colors I chose and they’re well worth the investment. I used to just settle for what was in the salon, but found investing in my own nail polish gave me more freedom of colors to choose from and better quality nail polish to work with. A lot of the nail polish in the salons are diluted because they are old and clumpy. Since, I’ve decided to use my own my manicure’s are lasting longer than a week.

A good top coat and base coat always make a huge difference as well. Although I’ve been looking to Julep to pair me up with outstanding colors, I advise to use the Sally Hanson brand for any kind of nail care. They are a very trust worthy brand, and will help restore nails that are in the worst of shape. I’m coming off a stretch of the gel polish regime and my nails haven’t peeled or broke since using their products.

So here is the scope on the colors and treatment I choose for my manicure, inspired by the 4th of July:

  • Fireworks by Julep – Currently on sale for $9.99 if you’re a Maven. She is a red, white and blue multi-dimensional glitter top coat.
  • Blue My Mind by Sally Hanson –  Priced at $6.98 at drugstore.com. This product has a base coat, strengthener, growth treatment, salon-inspired color, top coat, chip-resistance and a gel finish all in 1 bottle. I’ve used another color and I love it!
  • Sally Hanson Maximum Shield –  Priced at $5.99 at Ulta, is a powerful nail hardener that reinforces nails. Dual aldehyde formula bonds to nails making them harder and more durable. Apply just one coat.
  • Sally Hanson Manicure Top Coat – Priced at $7.99 at Ulta, is a salon strength protective top coat that improves nail color wear. Leaves nails with a hard, protective, salon perfect finish that lasts. Apply just one coat.

I hope you’re inspired to share some of your creations as well, I would love to see some other looks or designs. Have a happy and safe 4th of July everyone!

6 thoughts on “4th of July nails to get you in the spirit…And some nail tips.

  1. Great color/sparkle combo! Another similar blue nail polish is “Butler Please” by Essie. Love that one too!

Leave a Reply

