Julep Maven Box – July 2013 Boho Glam

photo-18

I received my Maven box about a week  ago, but waited to do this post because I went festive this week in honor of the 4th. I couldn’t wait to get to the salon to try on my new colors. I’m getting more excited each month, when I receive these products and get to share them with you. Based on my profile I’m a Boho Glam gal and this month’s theme is in honor of the California coast, but I have to say I have some mixed emotions about this month’s selections.

First on the list is the Beach Tonic spray, which is a dry oil and it’s priced alone at $18 if you’re a Maven. I was able to choose this item or the salt texture spray. Since I already own some other beach wave sprays and I’m staying away from the drying products since I just got my hair colored, I decided to go with the dry oil. I love the smell, very fruity and it blends in nicely to my skin. I tried it under my Khiel’s body lotion and together they made a good match. The fragrance did linger today, so I’m happy with my choice.

Second is the Karen, it’s a peach color that has some sparkle to it. I love it on my hands it goes great with my skin tone. I was expecting the color to be richer. However, it looks great on and definitely fits the beach theme. Third is Faye, she is supposed to be a liquid bronze. But, when I tried her on my toes it looks like more of glossy taupe color. I’m disappointed by this selection. I was hoping for more of a sparkle bronze. Even the swatch on the site does her more justice than what it looks like out of the bottle.

I guess 2 out of 3 isn’t bad, and considering the price for the box it’s well worth experimenting with the colors. However, I will leave Faye for the fall and stick with Karen a few more times this season. Below is a picture of how they look on. Let me know if you received any different colors , or if you love or hate Faye.

photo-17

 

6 thoughts on “Julep Maven Box – July 2013 Boho Glam

  1. Hi Michele,

    I wanted to thank you for being a sponsor on Love, Shelbey. I’m glad to have you!

    I absolutely LOVE Julep! Your colors this month were gorgeous 🙂

    I look forward to chatting!
    xo
    Shelbey

Leave a Reply

